What Now?

Well, I am officially saddened, for Batman: Arkham Asylum is being pushed back until September (at the soonest), so I must find another game worthy of my time. I’d had June set aside as my Batman and Boom Blox month for a while, and now that has all been pushed out the window. Except for the Boom Blox of course. I know that I do not have many regular readers, but if anyone happens to stop by and could help me with a conundrum, I would appreciate it.

My conundrum of course being, what do I get?  It really only between three games, and each of them has its personal merits. At the top of the list is a game I’ve been following for quite some time because it reminds me of an open world super hero game, which is a genre I’ve enjoyed in both Spiderman 2 and The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction. I’m of course talking about Prototype.

 

 Prototype

Yeah, pretty cool I guess. I mean, I have opposable thumbs, but whatever.

Jumping around the city, causing all kinds of mayhem and destruction is something that can always hold my attention for longer than it should. This is a completely single player experience, which means that it’ll have to stay interesting throughout, and even after it’s finished if it’s to get a buy from me. Of course, I still play Spiderman 2 every now and then. With Alex Mercer’s (the protagonist) myriad of powers, and an ever evolving landscape, I don’t see this game getting boring for a long while. Add and interesting story and varied enemies, and this may replace Spiderman 2 as my go to open world game.

Second on my list would have to be Ghostbuster: The Videogame. I’m not someones who’s been holding my breath for a Ghostbusters game worth playing. I liked the movies, and I’ve had my doubts that a game could live up to them. After watching multiple videos and reading many previews, this could most definitely be a game worth playing. Ghostbusters has humor and a nostalgic flavor that Prototype has no chance of capturing. So that is, of course, what Ghostbusters has going for it. Plus, the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man.

Ghostbuster

Stay forever puffed marshmallow man. Forever puffed.

The last game has the key benefit of being one I’ve actually played. Red Faction: Guerrila released it’s demo, and I have to say that I’m a fan. The gun play is solid, and while I didn’t run into any truy outstanding weapons, I liked the destructible environments. The hammer was awesome to be sure, and I even found some vehicles to drive around in. I think it may be relegated to a rent though, just because (aside from the almost entirely destructible environments) there’s not much new here. I am interested to see what the mission structure is like though.

So, populace, what do you have to say? Prototype, Ghostbuster, or Red Faction. All opinions are appreciated, though not necessarily taken into account.

~ by Dylan Nelson on May 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
